function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Pankaj Vithal 13Pankaj Vithal 13 

Copy a trigger from contacts object and replicate it on Leads object - need developer help

Guys, I am an Admin who needs help from a developer. I have an apex trigger that was written and implemented by a contractor. It is on Contacts object. What is does is assign the contact to an owner based on the first three digits of the postal code. I need to have the same assignment triggger on Leads object.
Best Answer chosen by Pankaj Vithal 13
Ryan GreeneRyan Greene
I updated your test below. Create a new class in your sandbox with the name LeadUpdateOwnerTest and paste in the code. As long as there's no problems click run test on this one and also on the test class for Utils. Make sure they both complete and have at least 75% converage. Then create an outbound change set with all 4 codes in it, the Trigger, Utils Class, and the test for both. When you deploy click run specified tests and run the two that are in the change set. Let me know if you need more help deploying! Good luck!

Updated Test:
@isTest(SeeAllData=true)
public class LeadUpdateOwnerTest{

static testMethod void testLeadUpdateOwner() {
        set<string> setPC=new set<string>();
        setPC.Add('M4X');
        User_Territory_Map__c um= new User_Territory_Map__c(POSTAL_CODE__c='M4X', Assigned_User__c=UserInfo.GetUserId());
        insert um;

Lead[] ld = new Lead[] {            
            new Lead(LastName = 'Test Lead1',Street='100 King St W',City='Toronto',State='ON',PostalCode='M4X 1A1',Country='Canada'),
                new Lead(LastName = 'Test Lead2',Street='100 King St W',City='Toronto',State='ON',PostalCode='M4X 1A1',Country='Canada')};

insert ld;        
        ld[0].PostalCode='M4X 1A3';
        ld[1].PostalCode='M4X 1A2';
        update ld;       
    }
}

All Answers