function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Elan Cramer 8Elan Cramer 8 

SOQL statement on a Custom Object

I have a custom object called University/Company. On the custom object is a lookup field to an account object called Company. I'd like to write a SOQL query that pulls the task information from this Company object via the University/Company object. Is this possible? I'm relatively new to SOQL, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Best Answer chosen by Elan Cramer 8
ApuroopApuroop
Try this please,
SELECT Id FROM Task WHERE WhatId IN (SELECT Company__c FROM University_Company__c)
Adjust the spellings of the custom field and the object.

For reference, getting the tasks from Opportunity:
SELECT Id FROM Task WHERE WhatId IN (SELECT AccountId FROM Opportunity)

All Answers

ApuroopApuroop
Try this please,
SELECT Id FROM Task WHERE WhatId IN (SELECT Company__c FROM University_Company__c)
Adjust the spellings of the custom field and the object.

For reference, getting the tasks from Opportunity:
SELECT Id FROM Task WHERE WhatId IN (SELECT AccountId FROM Opportunity)
This was selected as the best answer
Thanks Apuroop! This is what I was looking for. 

One other quick question--on the custom object, University/Company, there's a custom field called University. Do you know if there's a way to include that column in the output?
ApuroopApuroop
Is there a relationship between this custom object and the Task?

Also, mark a best answer if you think this question is solved. :)
I don't think the custom object is directly related to the Task. On the Task, there's the Related To field, which is an account. The account is related to the custom object becuase the account is a lookup field on the custom object. Please let me know if there's anything I can clarify. Thanks!
ApuroopApuroop