function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
StephenDicksonStephenDickson 

Will Salesforce ever move away from Object-Oriented Programming?

Considering the inherent problems with OOP (https://medium.com/@cscalfani/goodbye-object-oriented-programming-a59cda4c0e53), and since Salesforce is always on the cutting edge, is there a universe in which Salesforce would move away from OOP and toward Functional Programing?  

I'm a certified Salesforce professional but still relatively new to writing code. I've been working on learning Apex in order to be able to hold my own as a Salesforce Developer......I'd love to be reassured that I'm not wasting my time learning Object-Oriented Programming.  

Admittedly, my grasp of the two different engineering approaches is very limited so I'm speaking as a newbie :)
Best Answer chosen by StephenDickson
Alain CabonAlain Cabon

Learning Object-Oriented Programming is not a waste of time because Apex is still very used for the server side applications (Visualforce page controllers, back-end applications (batches)).

The big change was the new technologies with Lightning ( Aura, Web component (LWC) and open source now) which uses Javascript ( client and controllers ).

Javascript (Multi-Paradigm Coding Language) is not a pure functional language but given that you can use first-class functions and lambda calculus, that is sufficient to act like a functional language.

Many scripting languages, including Perl, Python, PHP, Lua, Tcl/Tk, JavaScript and Io, have first-class functions.