function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
sushieatersushieater 

knowledge ID confusion

Hi, I'm new to apex and salesforce in general and am trying to implement a public knowledge site.

I've added a custom field, "buildTOC" to a "self_help" knowledge article type and have been trying to create a custom page to display this article type. The idea is that I have some articles that require a table of contents and I am going to generate this using javascript once the page is delivered based on the value of "buildTOC" for that article.

I'm customizing the knowledgeController w/ an extra function, "getBuildTOC". In it I'm trying to get the article id by using the following as seen in the examples.

Id id = ApexPages.currentPage().getParameters().get('id');

This gets me an ID that looks like kA0A0000000PTub.

I'm trying to query buildTOC based on that ID,

List<Self_Help__kav> articles = [SELECT id, title ,BuildIndex__c FROM Self_Help__kav WHERE id = :id];

But I always get an empty recordset.

Trying to figure out why, I tried executing the following query in the SystemLog executor.

system.debug([select title,id from self_help__kav where publishStatus='online' and language='en_US']);

Which returns me a list of records including the article that I am refering to earlier. The problem is that it lists it as a different ID. The result of this query lists it as ka0A0000000PUKvIAO and if I hardcode that value into my earlier query, I get a proper record returned.

How do I access this "other" id from page parameters or is there a different way to do this that I'm missing? Why is there two ID's? Is one the published ID?

Thanks!

francoisLfrancoisL