function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
RedtagRedtag 

Simple Apex code to update Account with ID from custom object

I'm new to Apex and I've looked at the online references but need help for my first code. What I've got is a lookup field, Master_Account_Name__c on the Account object that looks up a custom object MasterAccount__c. Each object has an external ID field: Master_Account_ID__c on the Account Object and Account_ID__c on the Master Account Object.

What I want to do with a trigger (after insert, after update) is to populate the lookup field, Master_Account_Name__c on the Account Object with the correct id from the Master Account object to create the relationship (where the external ID fields are the same).

This will be used in nightly batch updates after upserts occur to each of the objects with master accounts being upserted first. Any help with this greatly appreciated.

Message Edited by Redtag on 07-13-2008 05:00 AM
MCunninghamMCunningham
Hey Redtag

below is a simple trigger I use to insert a SF product record ID (received as text) into a product lookup field whenever a lead is received -

a few tweaks and it should do as you need.

- welcome to the dark side of Force.com

regards

Michael

trigger LeadProduct on Lead (before insert, before update) {
For (Lead nlead:Trigger.new)
// If the Card_Interest__c field is not empty, then use it to set the Card_Product field
    {If (nlead.Card_Interest__c <> NULL)
      {
       nlead.Card_Product__c = nlead.Card_Interest__c;
       }
     }
}
RedtagRedtag

Thanks for responding Michael,

I have two issues with your proposed solution:

1) This operation will be done in bulk each night with over 2,000 Master Accounts and probably 30000 Accounts  - so I think I'll have to use Map or List methods to avoid exceeding limits?