function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
TrickTrick 

Please help with the trigger

trigger case1 on Case (after insert)

{

List<message__c> l=new list<message__c>();

if(trigger.isinsert)

{

for(case c:trigger.new)

{
system.debug('The value in the case variable c is'+c);if(c.fine__c)

{
Message__c a=new Message__c();

//a.accountid__c=c.accountid;

a.name__c=c.casenumber;

System.debug('The value in the variable a.name__c is'+a.name__c);

//a.name__c=c.contact;

a.Name='Sweet and Sour';

System.debug('The value in the variable a.name explixitly has been assigned is'+a.name);

l.add(a);

}

System.debug('The value in the List l is explicitly has been assigned is'+L);

}

}

insert(l);

}

Guys, I am new to salesforce and to this community.I am working on the problem.I have a trigger on the case object and a check boxfield on the case .If somebody checks that box then another object by the name of message should be created and some value from the case object should be passed on to the fields on the message object. For example,this value a.Name='Sweet and Sour'; has been harcoded becasue I was getting some error.a.name__c=c.casenumber;
Above I have assigned values from casenumber field on the case to the field name__c on the message field.
Firstly,Can I do this without having any relationship between the case and the message object.?Secondly,It is adding all the values to the message list as I can see in the debug log.However,it is not not inserting record with the values in the message custome object.Thirdly,Help me in correcting it so that it can insert record in the message object.

Please help

Thanks,

Trick

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
David81David81

Correct.

All Answers

David81David81