function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
PeteMPeteM 

Simple Trigger To Delete Records

Hi,

I am new to Apex development and looking for some help with a simple trigger to delete erroneous opportunities created by an automated process.

Basically, we want to delete any opportunity that is created where the opportunity name = "..."

Thanks for any assistance!

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
PeteMPeteM

Thanks to all for the guidence....  here is the final code that appears to accomplish what I was looking to do.

trigger DeleteOpp on Opportunity(after insert, after update) {
 List<Id> lstId = new List<Id>();

for(Opportunity opp: Trigger.old){
        List<Opportunity> existoppList = [Select Id from Opportunity where Name =: '....'];
        delete existoppList;
    }

}

Thanks again,

Pete

All Answers

steve456steve456

trigger DeleteOpp on Opportunity__c(after delete) {

List<Id> lstId = new List<Id>();

if(Trigger.isDelete) {
        for(Opportunity opp: Trigger.old) {            
                lstId.add(opp.Id);
        }

if(Trigger.isDelete) {
        List<Opportunity__c> existoppList = [Select Id,All the fields you need from Opportunity where Id IN: lstId and Opportunity Name='*********'];
        delete existoppList;
    } 

}

Sample Code...May contain Errors...You can adjust as per your req.........

PeteMPeteM

Thanks Steve for the help!

I am stillhaving a problem....it does not seem to fire.  Here is a litlle more information.  We have a process that is creating a new opportunity, then we have a workflow rule closing it.  I would like the trigger to actually delete the record once it is created.  Below is how I attempted to modify your code example:

trigger DeleteOpp on Opportunity(after update) {

if(Trigger.isDelete) {
     for(Opportunity opp: Trigger.new) {