function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SamwisematrixSamwisematrix 

System.LimitException: Too many SOQL queries: 101 Please Help!

What I am trying to do is update a custom date field.  I want to put the date of the last activity that does not contain "Act-On Email" into the field "Last_Activity_by_Account_Owner__c".

The trigger works great until I do a mass update to trigger the trigger on previous tasks, but then I run into System.LimitException: Too many SOQL queries: 101.   I believe it is because I have a query inside the for loop, but I am new to Triggers and I dont know how to fix it.

My code:

trigger LastActDate2 on Task (after insert, after update) {

//To do - If the subject of a completed task does not contain "Act-On Email", put the date of the completed task in the
    //"Last_Activity_by_Account_Owner__c" field on the account object

//Create a set of related account ID's
Set <ID> acctIDs = new Set <ID> ();

//For every task, add it's related to account ID to the set
 for (Task t: Trigger.new){
    if (t.accountID != NULL){
      acctIDs.add(t.accountID);
//Create a map to match the task related to ID's with their corresponding account ID's
      Map<ID, Account> acctMap = new Map<ID, Account> ([Select ID,Account_Owner_Role__c, Last_Activity_by_Account_Owner__c from Account where ID in :acctIDs]);
//Create the account object
      Account acctRec = acctMap.get(t.accountID);

//If the account ID isn't null, the subject line contains "Act-On Email", the account record owner's role matches the task record owner's role, and the task has been marked as completed
//Check to see if the Last_Activity_by_Account_Owner__c field is current compared with the latest completed activity