function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Sam AlexSam Alex 

How to send HTTP request when inserting data to Custom Object

Hi All, I am very new to Salesforce. Please help me on this.

I have a custom Object call "Book". I wrote a class. It has function call "sendRequest"

public static void sendRequest(Book__c[] books){
        string url = myUrl;

for (Book__c b :books){
            //url += '?bookPrice='+ b.Price__c;

HttpRequest req = new HttpRequest();
            HttpResponse res = new HttpResponse();
            Http http = new Http();

req.setMethod('POST' ); // Method Type
            req.setEndpoint(url); // Server Url

req.setHeader('Content-Type', 'application/x-www-form-urlencoded'); // Content Type
            req.setBody('bookPrice=' + EncodingUtil.urlEncode('testValue', 'UTF-8')); // Request Parameters

try {
                res = http.send(req);
                if(res.getBody() != null){
                    // Parse Response
                }
            } catch(Exception e) {
                System.debug('error: '+ e);
            }
        }
    }

Then I wrote a trigger. 

trigger BookRackTrigger on Book__c (after insert) {     
Book__c[] books = Trigger.new;     
BookRack.sendRequest(books);
}

Now when I am adding a Book, after clicking "save" I want to send a request to myURL. But it it not receiving any request. I have added myURL to remote site list as well.

What am I doing wring here? lease help me.

kiranmutturukiranmutturu
callouts cannot be made from triggers as that would hold up the database transaction until the callout completed, which can be up to 120 seconds from a limits perspective. This could obviously cause significant contention with other transactions and impact performance.