function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Janice SwinehartJanice Swinehart 

Testing and deploying to production

I am not an Apex developer.  I fumbled my way through creating a trigger in the sanbox to update data on the OpportunityLineItem.  I now need in production and have discovered I need it to go through testing?  Can someone help by providing steps to get this quickly tested and deployed to production?

trigger SetSyndicatedRevenueSchedule on OpportunityLineItem (before insert) {
    List<OpportunityLineItemSchedule> itemschedule = new List<OpportunityLineItemSchedule>();
    for (OpportunityLineItem o: Trigger.new)
    {
      if (o.Product_Subscription__c == False)
      {
        // o.Description = 'Hello World';
        o.ServiceDate = o.Report_Selling_Date__c;

itemschedule.clear();
        // itemschedule = [Select id, ScheduleDate from OpportunityLineItemSchedule where OpportunityLineItemId =: o.Id Order by ScheduleDate ASC];
        itemschedule = [Select ScheduleDate from OpportunityLineItemSchedule where OpportunityLineItemId =: o.Id Order by ScheduleDate ASC];
        System.Debug('Test: ' + itemschedule);

for (OpportunityLineItemSchedule rs: itemschedule)
        {
            rs.ScheduleDate = o.ServiceDate;
            update itemschedule;
        }
      }
    }
}

Ryan GreeneRyan Greene
Hello,
With your trigger you should not need to write a test.
To deploy go to Setup from your Sandbox type "Outbound Change Sets" in quick find, click New, name it, click Save. Then in your Change Set click Add under Change Set Components and select Apex Trigger from type, select your trigger and click Add To Change Set. When you're ready click Upload on your Change Set. Then select your Production Org and click Upload.