function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Kartik ChadhaKartik Chadha 

Prevent Contact Deletion

I am a newbie to salesforce and i have a requirement to which i need suggestions how to approach this requirement
I have 4 contacts related to one account and when someone deletes contacts, he should not be able to delete the last contact related to the account.For example: in account A1 i have 4 contacts and someone deletes the 3 contacts from that account then it should be deleted, after that there will be only 1 contact related to that account and den someone tries to delete the last contact than it should not be deleted and throws an error "There should be atleast one contact for this account <<account name>>".
How can i achieve this using trigger?
Here I want to use List rather than Map.
David @ ConfigeroDavid @ Configero
How about a rollup on the Account showing the number of Contacts, let's call this filed Account.Contact_Count__c.

Check the Account.Contact_Count__c in a before delete trigger, calculate the number of contacts related to each Account that are attempting to be deleted, and make sure deleting this number won't reduce the Contact count to 0.  I would suggest using a Map<Id, List<Contact>> which will store a key of the Account Id, and a value which is a list of Contacts associated with that Account Id.

If you cannot or do not want to use a rollup field, then you will have to run a SOQL query for each delete transaction instead of referencing the rollup field.

You will also have to make a decision if you are going to "choose" which is the last Contact to error if they attempt to delete multiple Contacts for an Account in one transaction, or just error all Contacts for that Account and force the user to choose manually (safer to let the User choose versus guessing for them, in my opinion)