function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Andrée-Anne CouillardAndrée-Anne Couillard 

Opportunity Action - Pre-populate field values based on Opportunity Values

Hi,

We have a button on the Opportunity object (Opportunity Action) to create a new proposal.
I need the fields on this proposal creation from the prepopulate (values taken from the opportunity values).
Ex: Proposal language is entered by the sales guys on the opportunity, and should be prepopulate when creating new proposal with that button.

I used the "Predefined Field Values" for some fields... but really need some other field to be the same as what is on the OP (not predefined).

Any work around? If it involves coding please give as much details as you can on the stpes to take, as I'm not a developer. 
Thanks!!
Roman RiabenskyiRoman Riabenskyi
Hello Andrée-Anne!
Have you tried Field Update by Workflow rule? Or Field Reference by Process Builder?
Hi Roman,

Thanks for your answer!

I will have a closer look to see if these could work... Do you think that these could work to populate right away in the "Creation Pop-up Box" or we would have to save and then they would be updated.

User-added image
Nope, populating executes only after the Save if you use Workflow Rule (WFR) or Process Builder. 
I see you have bunch of Picklists. Maybe Dependent Picklists will fit your requirements? It works right away in the Box.
For example:
If Proposal Status is "CSG KickOff Pending", the valid values for Proposal Type are A or D.
If Proposal Status is "CSG KickOff Negotiation", the valid values for Proposal Type are B or C.
Then you can make dependencies for another Picklists. 
Hey Roman,

So I look at workflow and process builder again for this use case... but I don't think it would work.