function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Matthew AllenMatthew Allen 

Distinct trigger on text field

Hi,

i need your help.  I have a field on the account object called “Brands__c” this field can contain multiple brands split by a comma. However this field can contain duplicate brands, for example Sprite, Coca Cola, Fanta, Sprite. I need s trigger that either fixes that field and remove the duplicate sprite or moves the data to another field and removes the duplicate sprite in the process.

it won’t always be sprite and the field could contain 1 brand or 50 brands.

can anyone help? I have never used triggers before but understand this is my only option.

thank you

matt
Jayant DasJayant Das
Hi Matthew,

You can try using the below logic to remove any duplicates entered and save only distinct values during the operation. This is a sample but should be a good starting point for any further logic

Account acct = Trigger.new[0];
    String brand = acct.Brands__c;
    brand = brand.deleteWhitespace(); 

List<String> allItems = brand.split(','); //  you get the list of comma separated values
    Set<String> distinctItems = new Set<String>(); 
    distinctItems.addAll(allItems); // this will only add distinct values from the list

// now join back those string using a comma
    brand = '';
    for(String item : distinctItems) {
        brand += item + ',';
    }
    brand = brand.removeEnd(','); // remove the last comma which would have been added
    acct.Brands__c = brand; // assign it back to the field

Thanks,
Jayant
Thank you so much. Next question... what do I don’t with this code? (Insert embarrassed face)
Jayant DasJayant Das