function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Giorgos LosoffGiorgos Losoff 

Only set days counter to count when case is in a certain status

Hi, I am fairly new to Salesforce and this community, so please bare with me. On our case object, we have a field calls "Days Open" that counts when the case is not in the "Closed" status. However, we have added a status called "Pending" and I have run into a bit of a wall. I talked with SF Support and they suggested I turn to this community.

We want the "Days Open" counter to only count when the case is in "Open" status. Then for the counter to stop when it's moved to "Pending" and then start up again if moved back to "Open" and finally when the case is "Closed" to leave the counter in the final number. Meaning if the case is in open for 5 days, the days open counter says 5; then if I move it to pending it stays at 5 and then if I move it back to open for 3 more days, it would say 8. Then when I close the case, the counter still says 8. Any guidance at all would be appreciated and please let me know if I need to clarify anything further!
Best Answer chosen by Giorgos Losoff
Abdul KhatriAbdul Khatri
Then use the following code

global class CaseOpenDaysUpdateJob implements Schedulable {

public static String jobname = 'Update Case Open Days';
    public static String CRON_EXP = '0 05 0 * *  ?';

public static void Start()
    {
        System.schedule(jobName, CRON_EXP, new CaseOpenDaysUpdateJob());
    }   

public static void Stop()
    {
        List<CronJobDetail> jobs = [SELECT Id FROM CronJobDetail WHERE Name = :jobName];

if(!jobs.isEmpty()) {
            for(CronJobDetail job : jobs) {
                Id jobId = [SELECT Id from CronTrigger WHERE CronJobDetailId = :job.Id][0].Id;
                System.abortJob(jobId); 
            }           
        }
    }