function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Mickey Stringer 5Mickey Stringer 5 

Trigger error - Too many query rows: 50001

Hi all,
I developed a trigger for our org that updates a checkbox based on a corresponding checkbox in related contacts. Not being a knowledgeable developer, I took an existing trigger we have working in production, stripped it down and modified it to work on this custom object. I got it working in the sandbox and after deploying to production, am unable to create new records in this object because of a query limit in the trigger.

Having read several forum posts throughout creating this new trigger, I understand the placement and scope of SOQL queries is very important in Apex. As far as placement, I mimicked what was i nthe original trigger and so trusted it wasn't being done in loops and such. As far as scope, as you see below the Person list is unqualified, but there are no Person records yet in production. The Contact list is qualified by the Person__r.Id existing in the Person list. 

I thought perhaps that having no Person records, and thus no Contact records with Person__r.Id returning a value, that might cause the list to return all Contacts, but I disabled the trigger, added a Person record, and then re-enabled it to no avail.

Posting code snippet where the lists occur. Do you all see anything improper? Thanks!
FYI, firstRunBefore is set to TRUE in the helper class
if(PDMPRegistrationTriggerHelperClass.firstRunBefore){
    PDMPRegistrationTriggerHelperClass.firstRunBefore = false;
    List<Id> personIds = new List<Id>();
    for(Person__c p : Trigger.new){
      personIds.add(p.Id);
    }

// Get Contacts for all People
    // Prevents query within the loop below
    List<Contact> contacts = [SELECT Id, FirstName, LastName, PDMP_Registered__c, Person__r.Id