function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Gwirizanani SinoiaGwirizanani Sinoia 

help! create a trigger that can create and update records on the child object

I am a new developer and trying to create a trigger that creates and updates child records based on  changes to the related object.
I have two objects in a master detail relationship
Testchild_c
Testparent_c
Testparent__c has P1 amount field , P2 amount field ,P3 amount field(currency) and Age Field(number field)
Testchild_c has result output fields based on amount  and Age on Testparent__c. Testchild_c fields are = P1result, P2result, P3result(text fields)
The table matrix table has all the variables
ie if  P1__c= $100000 and Age__c=17 output to P1 result field  'MER* Full GPR FBP' and if P2_c = $800000 output to P2result= 'Full GPR, MER*, FBP, Ex ECG**, FQ'
What the trigger need to do is either create or update the record. If two conditions are met to create and update the other etc.
I have matrix table to explain wha I am trying to say.
thanks in advance

User-added image

Best Answer chosen by Gwirizanani Sinoia
Waqar Hussain SFWaqar Hussain SF
try below code, I think this what you are looking for.

Here is a copy of my code.will need something to exempt the second insertion and update.please help!

trigger TestPreapptrigger on Pre_Application__c(after insert, after update) {

List < PA_Pre_App_Life_Assured__c > preAppCreateList = new List < PA_Pre_App_Life_Assured__c > ();

for (Pre_Application__c preAppLoop: trigger.new) {

if (preAppLoop.Age_at_next_birthday__c >= 17 && preAppLoop.Age_at_next_birthday__c <= 35 && preAppLoop.PA_Life_Sum_Assured__c >= 0 && preAppLoop.PA_Life_Sum_Assured__c <= 750000) {
                PA_Pre_App_Life_Assured__c insertRecords = new PA_Pre_App_Life_Assured__c(Pre_Application__c = preAppLoop.Id,