function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Hazel LarotHazel Larot 

How do I write an apex code to display last 2 records using getRecords?

Hi,
I have very little experience in apex code/visualforce pages and need to update an existing code in our org. I need to change an apex code so that a drop down list will only display the last 2 records created for an object. The object is called ProgramCycles (which is created every year) and I need the last 2 ProgramCycles only to display in the list options. 
Current code looks like this:
public list<SelectOption> ProgramCycles = new list<SelectOption>();
public list<SelectOption> getProgramCycles()
    {
      if(ProgramCycles == null || ProgramCycles.size() <= 0)
        ProgramCycles = SelectOptions.GetProgramCycleListRecent();
        system.debug('xyzzy-in getProgramCycles')        ;
      return ProgramCycles;
    }

This code displays 11 list options, including 4 past records and 7 future records that have not been created yet. 

Best Answer chosen by Hazel Larot
Abdul KhatriAbdul Khatri
You VF page looks good, so you are saying the below code still don't give you results

public List<SelectOption> getProgramCycles() {
        if(ProgramCycles == null || ProgramCycles.size() <= 0) {
            for(Program_Cycle__c progCycle: [SELECT Id, Name FROM Program_Cycle__c 
                                             WHERE End_Date__c > today AND IsActive__c = true 
                                             ORDER BY Start_Date__c ASC LIMIT 2])
                ProgramCycles.add(new SelectOption(progCycle.Id, progCycle.Name));
        }

system.debug(ProgramCycles);
        return ProgramCycles;
    }
You can put this declaration at the top of the class like I did above
List<SelectOption> ProgramCycles = new List<SelectOption>();

All Answers

Abdul KhatriAbdul Khatri