function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Kris Ryan SAKris Ryan SA 

Rich Area Text formatting not correct when defaulting from another Rich Area Text

Hi,
We have an apex class that is defaulting information for a Visualforce page to send an email.
I have changed the class to pull the email signature from the user file. This is copying a rich text area field into another rich text area field.
This seems to work, shockingly, since I am not a coder. BUT there seems to be additional spacing on the visualforce page input.
Would someone be able to tell me how to fix this?

Apex Class code:
public PCharter(ApexPages.StandardController stdController) {
    this.ProjectCharter = (Project_Charter__c)stdController.getRecord();
    this.getProjectCharter();
    User u = [Select Id, Name, Email_Signature__c from User where Id =: UserInfo.getUserId()];
    this.ProjectCharter.Email_Message__c = u.Email_Signature__c;

Visualforce Page:
<p>Message:  <br /><apex:inputTextarea richtext="true" value="{!ProjectCharter.Email_Message__c}" rows="20"/></p>

Here is my email signature:
Email Signature from User record
This is what the field ends up looking like:
Email Message
See the additional line spacing? How can I make it look exactly like the email signature?

Thanks!!!
Ryan GreeneRyan Greene
I've had similar issues with VF Pags as a PDF. To solve for spacing I had to write CSS to style the doc. In the code below, edit the font size, font type, and line height to your liking.Try updating your VF Page like this:
<apex:page controller="YourController">
    <head>
        <style type="text/css">
            body {
            font-size:11pt;
            font-family:Arial, "Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, sans-serif;
            line-height:1.3;
            }
        </style>
    </head>
    <html>
        <body>