function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Vinay_guptaVinay_gupta 

Disable search button when search button is clicked

Hi All,

Urgent help needed.

I am new to Salesforce and need your guidance to grey out the GO button. When the GO button is clicked, the button immediately greys out and prevent the user from clicking the button multiple times. GO button is calling a method called Search in a custom controller.

<apex:commandButton id="btnGo" value="{!$Label.Go}" action="{!Search}" rerender="searchResults">

Request you to please share your advice if we can grey out the button or put some fancy text that "Search is happening" until the result comes out.

Regards,
Vinay
Best Answer chosen by Vinay_gupta
Abdul KhatriAbdul Khatri
Can you try the below code 
<apex:actionStatus id="disablebtn">
    <apex:facet name="stop">
        <apex:commandButton id="btnGO" value="{!$Label.Go}" action="{!Search}" style="margin-left: 450px"  reRender="searchResults" status="disablebtn" disabled="false"/>
    </apex:facet>    
    <apex:facet name="start">
        <apex:commandButton style="margin-left: 450px" status="disablebtn" value="Searching..." disabled="true"/>
</apex:actionStatus>

All Answers

Abdul KhatriAbdul Khatri
Create a property by the name as below or whatever you like on the controller class level
public Boolean disabled { get; set;}
Now make use of the button attribute disabled
<apex:commandButton id="btnGo" value="{!$Label.Go}" action="{!Search}" rerender="searchResults" disabled="{!disabled}">
In the Search Method you can do something like this
public void Search() {

disabled = true;

//Your code

}
Vinay_guptaVinay_gupta
Hi Abdul,

Thanks for your Quick reply.
I tried your way but it's not working. It not even showing any result on GO button click.

Can you please suggest me any other way to fix this.?

Regards,
Vinay