function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Ruth RushtonRuth Rushton 

apex trigger insert custom object 1 field from custom object 2 field

Hi

Can someone please help as I have no Apex experience and I've tried various different previous posts to help but I'm not getting anywhere!

I have two Custom objects, CustomObj1 has a field which is a lookup of CustomObj2, CustomObj1 also has two other fields which I would like to be populated with details from CustomObj2 depending on which lookup is selected.

I think I need a Trigger on CustomObj1 but I don't know how to write the code (I keep getting errors to do with < symbols).

Please could someone help with what code I should be using, I have a Sandbox set-up with data in to test.

Thanks
Best Answer chosen by Ruth Rushton
Steven NsubugaSteven Nsubuga
TEXT(Category__r.Recurrence__c)

All Answers

You can do this with 2 formula fields on CustomObj1, no need for a trigger.
Ruth RushtonRuth Rushton
OK - I'm not great at formulae either (but do have some experience!).

The lookup field on obj1 is called Category and I want the Recurrence field on Obj1 to equal the Recurrence field on Obj2

I haven't had much sleep and my brain isn't working properly!
The syntax for the formula field on obj1 would be  
Category__r.Recurrence__c
Ruth RushtonRuth Rushton
Thanks - almost there however Recurrence is a picklist field on Obj2 and when I check Syntax I get the message

Error: Field Recurrence__c is a picklist field. Picklist fields are only supported in certain functions
TEXT(Category__r.Recurrence__c)

This was selected as the best answer
Ruth RushtonRuth Rushton
Thank you so much - it works! The only other question I have is if Obj2 is amended, will this be updated on Obj1 if will I need a Flow/Apex Trigger for that?