function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Wm Peck 1958Wm Peck 1958 

Can you join tables when writing SQL (SOQL) statements in Salesforce?

I am new to Salesforce and come from a reporting / SQL background and perspective. I started to look at how to write SQL (SOQL) in Salesforce.

This link answered my question exactly - it's painful. So that gave me the quick answer, and a headache as well.

On this link it describes a limitation of Salesforce in regards to SQL:
SOQL doesn’t support all advanced features of the SQL SELECT command. For example, you can’t use SOQL to perform arbitrary join operations, use wildcards in field lists, or use calculation expressions.

So my specific question is now, what does it mean "you can't use SOQL to perform arbitrary join operations"? Is this the same as simply saying "You can't do join operations"? What exactly is the adjective "arbitray" trying to convey.

And per the first link of the guy who was "OMG how do I write a normal SQL statement in Salesforce?", any suggestions on how to get started? I do have the Trailheads, and I see SOQL modules in "Apex Basics & Database", but do you have any tips on getting started.

My perspective is Oracle SQL and BusinessObjects for your traditional reporting.

Also, I think this is my first post, I don't see any Category for "Reporting", "Einstein", etc. So I put it in 

Best Answer chosen by Wm Peck 1958
Colin KenworthyColin Kenworthy
I think it just means you can't just pick any two tables and join them based on them both having a common column.  In the Where clause you also can't test for one table column being equal to another table column.