function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
sujatha dhanekulasujatha dhanekula 

Hi, I am not a developer. I need to write trigger on opportunity object, opp name should be auto populate accountname:oppname entered by user

Hi, I am not a developer. I need to write trigger on opportunity object,  opp name should be auto populate accountname:oppname entered by user.
requirement is
company has decided to have the Opportunity naming convention as “<Account Name>: <Opportunity Name>”. For example, if the opportunity is pertaining to 200 laptops, from Account ABC, the Opportunity naming convention should be “ABC: 200 laptops”. However, do not mandate this to be filled in as such by users. Instead, automatically update the Opportunity name as <Account Name>: <Opportunity Name> if someone creates the Opportunity without Account Name already in it.
sowmya Inturi 9sowmya Inturi 9
Hi Sujatha,

I don't think you need a trigger for that. You can do it with worflow itself.

Workflow Rule:
User-added image

Workflow Field Update:
User-added image

Thanks,
Sowmya.
Tried with work flow didn't work. Does it need time based trigger. Can you please inform how to create work flow for this. I created when on opportunity account name is null and opportunity name is not null then update opportunity name field only on create, but didn't update when I created new opportunity
Hi Sujatha,
1. Opportunity Account Name Should not be null (Should take Account Name NOT null).
2. No need of taking Opportunity Name condition as it is a mandatory field.
3. Make sure that you activated your workflow rule.

Thanks,
Sowmya.
Hi Sowmya, Thank you. I activated workflow rule. However, account name is too long how to trim it before update opp name field with accountname.oppname and only one workflow rule to be active is this per object? Thank you SUjatha
Hi Sujatha,