function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
James CollaJames Colla 

Newbie trying to enable Apex Coding

I'm trying to develop an Apex Trigger. I've created a Sandbox environment cause you can't do this directly in production. I've connected my Eclipse IDE to the sandbox (I can run queries on it so i know its connected), but I can't created anything Apex related. I go New -> Apex Trigger and receive this on the popup: "Apex Code is not enabled in this project.  Check permission and connection settings." I've read that some "Author Apex" setting needs to be enabled but I have yet find this option anywhere. I'm a System Administrator so I don't think i lack permissions, but even in the user interface, trying to create a new trigger on an object gives me this:
"Insufficient Privileges. You do not have the level of access necessary to perform the operation you requested. Please contact the owner of the record or your administrator if access is necessary. For more information, see Insufficient Privileges Errors."

I don't understand why I can't do anything even in my sandbox environment. Since it fails in the user interface, I believe the hang up is in Salesforce and not my Eclipse environment, but I can't find anything that lets me enable this. Is the "Author Apex" option the only thing I'm missing? Where is it? Shouldn't it be right in the User/Profile settings? And isn't this enabled in Sandbox by default? I thought that was the point to the Sandbox environment. Thanks in advance for any insight.
Mario PariseMario Parise
Hey James

Take a look at the permissions for the object you're working on. Permissions for System Administrators can be a little weird, in that you have permission to give/modify/revoke permissions to yourself. It's entirely possible you're missing a set of permissions on this object or on specific fields.