function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
PharaohgirlPharaohgirl 

Is it possible to update the status on a parent record based on the status of multiple child object records with a lookup relationship?

Hi everyone,

I am very new to Apex (as in completed the introductory Apex Trailhead badge a few days ago), so apologies if I say anything stupid or that doesn't make sense.

I have a custom object called Rulecloseout__c and a second custom object called Rule_change_milestone__c which has a lookup relationship to Rulecloseout__c.

There will be multiple milestones for each rulecloseout.

Each milestone has a status, and I want to update the parent Rulecloseout's status based on these (and every time they're edited).

So if all child milestones for a rulecloseout record are updated to be either Completed or No longer required (picklist values), then I want the Rulecloseout status to automatically be updated to Completed.

I've done quite a bit of reading, and the only possible solution I can find is an Apex trigger rollup summary of all the child milestone statuses on the Rulecloseout, and then a formula field for the status using the contains function.

1) Will this work?

2) Could someone please help me with what I need to put in the Apex Trigger?

You probably think I'm trying to run before I can walk, which is true! But I am going to go away and do the Trailhead units on Apex Triggers in the meantime.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Rowena

Andrew GAndrew G
I did something similar with Skill Requirements in a Work Order recently - so i will provide the code to let you extrapolate

The trigger layout - to handle insert, edits and deletion of the child record.  It is after as the saved child needs to be read to update the parent.