function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Brent Woodard 10Brent Woodard 10 

Need to create my first trigger

I have a custom field on my Lead object, it's a pick list named LeadSource.

On my custom object "Checkout" whenever someone uses a lookup relationship to select the lead, I want it to automatically fill out a custom field on that called marketing source. I need it to do something like the code written below. I'm a C# developer by history and I'm not even sure if I need to create a new object here or if everything is already loaded.

Here is the code I wrote, I wouldn't think it would be much more complicated than this but I need help.

trigger <SetMaketingSource> on Checkout__c (before insert, after insert, after update) {
Lead.LeadSource = Checkout__c.Marketing_Source__c
}

Raj VakatiRaj Vakati
You no need an trigger for this .. you can able to do it process builder please refer this link 

https://help.salesforce.com/articleView?id=000213419&type=1
https://douglascayers.com/2017/04/02/use-process-builder-to-update-related-records-when-activities-logged/
https://salesforcesidekick.com/2016/07/11/how-to-work-with-related-records-in-process-builder-criteria/
I can't get that to work.
User-added image
Raj VakatiRaj Vakati
You need to update the related record .. not same record .. 

No, I need to set the checkout field to the lead marketing field.
@Amit Kumar Giri@Amit Kumar Giri
@Brent- There are many different way to do this. You dont need code for this

Approach 1 - Formula Field
>> I hope u alreday created a loop up fiel;d on CheckOut object to make a relationship with Lead
>> If u want to make "marketing source" custom field in Checkout object as a formula field then it will be prety easy