function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Abhishek Prasad 8Abhishek Prasad 8 

How to compare two list values - Apex

HI Friends,
I am new to Apex. I am facing this challenege where i want to compare fields of two different lists. Here is the pseudo code:

Opportunity Opp = ([select, id, Site__C from Opportunity where id = Opp.id]); // Opp.id passed from the calling method

List<Contract__c> Contra= new List <Contract__c>([select, id, Site__c from Contract__c where Opportunity__c = Opp.id]);

List<Deal__c> Deals= new List <Contract>([select, id, Site__c from Deal__c where Opportunity__c = Opp.id]);

for(Contract__c Con:Contra){
       for(Deal__c D: Deals){
              if(Con.Site__c == D.Site){

//PUT THE VALUE IN LIST FOR UPDATE

}
              else
                      {
                            //PUT THE VALUE IN LIST FOR INSERT
                          }

}
}

Now, this code is not perfect. But i am using two for loops, which i want to avoid. What should be the best way to achieve this (comparing two list values)? If possible, please provide some code snippent.

Thanks in advance.
Banwari kevat1Banwari kevat1
Hi Abhisek,
There is not direct function to compare two list but indirectly you can do it as follows:
List<Account> firstList;
List<Account> secondList;

Map<id, Account> firstMap = new Map<id, Account>(firstList);
Map<id, Account> secondMap = new Map<id, Account>(secondList);

If( firstMap.keySet().contailsAll(secondMap.keySet()) && secondMap.keySet().contailsAll(firstMap.keySet())  ){
 System.debug('List are equals');
}
else{
System.debug('List are not equals');

}
Thanks
Banwari

GauravGargGauravGarg
Hi Abhishek,

Salesforce has a concept of Map in salesforce which store value with a ID or unique identifier:
Map<Id, Value> which allow us to easily find the actual record.