function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Nico WrennNico Wrenn 

Trigger to auto-populate a lookup field before record is saved for the first time

Hello!

I've noticed that some managed packages have the ability to auto-populate a lookup field with the current user, before the record is saved for the first time. I want to do this on a custom object we have. For example, if there is a required User lookup field that needs to be filled out, but it's almost always going to be the current user, how could I write a trigger/apex code to auto-populate the lookup with the current user?

I am a complete beginner to Apex code. Thanks in advance for any help!
venkat-Dvenkat-D
If the user field is optional on the layout , you can do somehting like this assuming this is on account
Trigger trigName on Account (before insert){
for(account acc: Trigger.New){
if(acc.fieldname == null)
acc.fieldname = userinfo.getuserid();
}

}

Glyn Anderson 3Glyn Anderson 3
Nico,

venkay-D's solution will populate the user field upon save.  The user will see the new record page layout.  If they leave the user field blank and hit Save, the trigger will automatically populate the field with the current user.  If that's what you need - we're done!