function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Rose FarnhamRose Farnham 

How to add JavaScript via your browser's developer console?

I am new to Visualforce and I am doing the Trailhead: Visualforce Basics Module - Use Standard Controllers.  The instructions state:
To preview your page in the context of Lightning Experience, open your browser’s developer console and enter:
$A.get("e.force:navigateToURL").setParams(
    {"url": "/apex/pageName"}).fire();
I am not sure where to enter this.  When I enter it in the Visualforce page the text just show up on the Visualforce page preview.  I must be missing something.  Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Best Answer chosen by Rose Farnham
Alain CabonAlain Cabon
Hi,

I am using Chrome DevTools as browser's console.

To open the dedicated Console panel, either:
Press Ctrl+Shift+J (Windows / Linux) or Cmd+Opt+J (Mac).
If DevTools is already open, press the Console button.
When you open the Console panel, the Console drawer collapses automatically.

https://developers.google.com/web/tools/chrome-devtools/console/

https://trailhead.salesforce.com/fr/modules/visualforce_fundamentals/units/visualforce_creating_pages

The rendered page opens in a new window. Note that this page preview shows your page without Salesforce styling.

To see your page in the context of Lightning Experience, open your Chrome browser’s developer console and enter:

$A.get("e.force:navigateToURL").setParams( {"url": "/apex/HelloWorld"}).fire();
or
$A.get("e.force:navigateToURL").setParams( {"url": "/apex/HelloMobile"}).fire();

User-added image

Regards
Alain

All Answers

Alain CabonAlain Cabon
Hi,

I am using Chrome DevTools as browser's console.

To open the dedicated Console panel, either:
Press Ctrl+Shift+J (Windows / Linux) or Cmd+Opt+J (Mac).
If DevTools is already open, press the Console button.