function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Scott.DivishScott.Divish 

Lightning Alternatives to JavaScript Buttons

I'm truly not a developer, and yet a Trailhead lesson is requiring me to perform as such to complete it.  

The subject Trailhead lesson says to Create A Lightning Action.  I've downloaded the indicated installation package for quickcontact lightning component.  However, I don't know where to go with step 2 below.  I tried to glean the needed information from the lesson, but, again, I'm not a developer and don't understand all the code.  If someone could point me in the right direction...using declaritive verbage...I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,  Scott
To complete this challenge, you need to add a Lightning component to your org. Then use that component to create a Lightning action on the Account object. When the action’s button is clicked, it creates a new contact based on form input. To get started, install this package that contains the component bundle that you'll need to modify.
1. The Lightning component must be named quickContact.
2. Add the appropriate interfaces to the quickContact component. (Hint: there are two.)
3. Create a new action with Label Quick Contact and Name Quick_Contact on the Account object that invokes the quickContact component.
4. Add the action to the Account Layout page layout.
Best Answer chosen by Scott.Divish
SaraHasNoLimitsSaraHasNoLimits
Hi Scott,

The only reason I have seen for the component not to be listed is if you did not implement the interface for the force:lightningQuickAction in your actual Lightning component. Basically, it was step 2 where it said: Add the appropriate interfaces to the quickContact component. (Hint: there are two.)

What you will need to do is this (assuming you have sucessfully installed the package as directed)

1.) Open Developer Console