function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Scott Patterson 3Scott Patterson 3 

Creating trigger to assign lead owners based on web domain

Hi, I'm very new to SFDC development and am trying to create a trigger that will assign lead owners based on web domain (lead field name = "rWeb Domain"). Currently, lead ownership is defined at the company level (i.e. one company is owned by one user), and we uniquely identify a company by its rWeb Domain. I'm hoping to automatically assign any newly created leads where the company already exists in SFDC to the appropriate lead owner. For any new leads where no company exists, I'd like to assign them to lead owners based on a round-robin system, but with a qualifier for Inudstry. Our users are currenlty segmented into two teams, each with different Industries (team 1 Industries = "Education", "Technology"; Team 2 Industries = "Media", "Entertainment"). As such, the round robin lead assignments should apply to new leads within those respective industries. All other new leads (i.e. those where no matching rWeb Domain exists AND that do not fall into one of those four industries) should be assigned to me.

Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks!
neao18neao18
There are 2 ways to to this, one is more flexiable then the other.

1. Use Salesforce OOB Lead Assignment rule to define rule based on the Company type but it has to match the rule condition, also if the number of unique company increase then its not scalable. As you already have one user handlink one company it should work for some extent.

2. Use a custom trigger and write all your logic there( have a object to hold company name with respect to user name), if no criteria for company meets then move to Industry check the so on.

Hope this give some idea to start.
Scott Patterson 3Scott Patterson 3