function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Arav SundarArav Sundar 

deleting parent should delete the child with self lookup relationship getting an error pls suggest

Hi All , 

i am new to the Coding and i really want to learn the coding and intrested too and i am finding very difficult to build the logic and to write can anyone please suggest ..

i am trying to build the code for the requirement " i am havng an self lookup relationship with opportunity and when i delete the parent child should also get deleted " Below is the code can anyone pls suggest and the error i am getting is " Error: Compile Error: sObject type 'childofopp' is not supported. If you are attempting to use a custom object, be sure to append the '__c' after the entity name. Please reference your WSDL or the describe call for the appropriate names. at line 7 column 37 " Not sure what is the mistake  i have done 

Standard object = Opportunity 
Custom object = Child_of_Oppty__c (having an self lookup realtionship) 

trigger DeletionofParentchildgetsdeleted on Opportunity (before delete) {

List<id> OpptyID = new list<id>();
for( Opportunity Oppty : trigger.old){
opptyid.add(oppty.id);
}
list<Child_of_Oppty__c> childofopp =[select id from childofopp where opportunityid in : opptyid];
delete childofopp;

}

rajat Maheshwari 6rajat Maheshwari 6

Arav,

Could you please let me know - : 

Child_of_Oppty__c is lookupField on opportunity ?

I will help you to assist you in coding part, Don't be worry :)

Thanks
Rajat Maheshwari
rajatzmaheshwari@gmail.com

Akshay_DhimanAkshay_Dhiman
Hi Arav,

In your code you are trying to delete the sobject "childofopp " but you are getting error in  at line 7 column 37 " because you are not using the API Name in your code so I suggest you to try this code .