function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Yaris GutierrezYaris Gutierrez 

APEX Trigger Compile Error Using SalesForce-Provided Code

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to APEX triggers and am trying to use the following guide, https://help.salesforce.com/articleView?id=entitlements_auto_add.htm&type=0, to automatically add entitlements to new cases when created from web mail, email-to-case, and communities. However, when attempting to "Save" the code copied and pasted from the page, I am presented with the error Error: Compile Error: unexpected token: } at line 43 column 0.

I was under the impression that this was due to there being an extre "}" in the code block, so I removed this and received Error: Compile Error: Variable does not exist: contactIds at line 5 column 39
trigger DefaultEntitlement on Case (Before Insert, Before Update) {
    List <EntitlementContact> entlContacts = 
                [Select e.EntitlementId,e.ContactId,e.Entitlement.AssetId 
                From EntitlementContact e
                Where e.ContactId in :contactIds
                And e.Entitlement.EndDate >= Today 
                And e.Entitlement.StartDate <= Today];
        if(entlContacts.isEmpty()==false){
            for(Case c : Trigger.new){
                if(c.EntitlementId == null && c.ContactId != null){
                    for(EntitlementContact ec:entlContacts){
                        if(ec.ContactId==c.ContactId){
                            c.EntitlementId = ec.EntitlementId;
                            if(c.AssetId==null && ec.Entitlement.AssetId!=null)
                                c.AssetId=ec.Entitlement.AssetId;
                            break;
                        }
                    } 
                }
            } 
        } else{
            List <Entitlement> entls = [Select e.StartDate, e.Id, e.EndDate,