function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Eric Anderson 54Eric Anderson 54 

Best practice for handling notifications in Visualforce

HI there,

I am new to Salesforce and consiquently Visualforce. I have a business requirement to notify the user if they have not selected the correct entry i the drop down box. I've tried to apply information related in the following 'Article' with no success:

https://developer.salesforce.com/forums/ForumsMain#!/feedtype=SINGLE_QUESTION_SEARCH_RESULT&id=906F00000008x3BIAQ

The article was based on how to display a 'Message box' in Visualforce. I know the condition to display the message box is met, but the Message box is not being displayed, I am able to see that the value in 'results' is infact equal to true because of the information shown in the log. My related code is below:

RELEVANT VISUALFORCE CODE

<apex:page standardController="Request__c" extensions="TrController" >
    <!-- The following code will fix a problem with the calendar autospawning when the time entries are displayed. -->
    <script>
        function setFocusOnLoad(){ Coment.focus(); }
    </script>
    <script> 
       	function validateRecords()
       	{
           	if('{!results}' == true)
               {
                   alert('Please select a action type for the record entered and then click on "Save" again!');
			   }                    
 		}
    </script>

RELEVANT CONTROLLER CODE

public string results {get;set;}
    public TrController(ApexPages.StandardController controller) 
    {
        //Obtain the parent object Id from the the visualforce form. 
        ReqId = Apexpages.currentPage().getparameters().get('Id');
        //SelectedEntryId = Apexpages.currentPage().getparameters().get('deleteEntryId');
        //Call the loaddata method to laod the time entries related to the parent object.