function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
David GlickDavid Glick 

activate trigger

I am new to Salesforce.com.  I am following the example in the Force.com IDE manual and created the trigger and class, however, when I add an Account, the Description field is not populated with "Hello World".  So it seems my trigger and class are not getting activated.

Also, when I went to save in Eclipse, I got a message that it was not in sync with the organization, but I continued anyway.  My class and trigger are saved on the site though so it seems things are ok.
Best Answer chosen by David Glick
David GlickDavid Glick
Ajay,

I just figured it out.  I have to save the account first.  I was thrown by the “before insert” thinking it would appear in the dialog before I do the save (insert).

I am truly a newbie.

Thank you for your guidance.

All Answers

Ajay Ghuge 6Ajay Ghuge 6
David,

Post the trigger/class code so that all can check for the issue. There are multiple reasons for it : 
1. Trigger may be not active
2. Trigger events are not correct
3. Code is not saved on salesforce

Regards,
Ajay
David GlickDavid Glick
Ajay, This is the class code: public class MyHelloWorld { // This method updates the Description field for a list // of accounts to read "Hello World". public static void addHelloWorld(Account[] accs) { for (Account a:accs) { if (a.Description != 'Hello World') a.Description = 'Hello World'; } } } This is the trigger code: trigger helloWorldAccountTrigger on Account (before insert) { MyHelloWorld.addHelloWorld(Trigger.new); } Thanks, David.
David GlickDavid Glick
Sorry that the code is formatted as one continuous line.  I do have the code on salesforce.com and I have verified that the trigger and class are in "active" status.
Ajay Ghuge 6Ajay Ghuge 6
David,