function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Carissa CrittendenCarissa Crittenden 

variable does not exist - Update Lookup Field value with newly inserted object Id

Hi,

I'm brand new to apex. I'm trying to update an already existing apex class with some code that will, based on field values, create a new record. I then want to update the Quote and Opportunity to tie back to that newly created record and I'm getting the error for "Variable does not exist" for everything I'm trying.

Here's a snippet of the code I'm using. It does more than just this, but the errors are being thrown at the aQuote.ContractId & aQuote.Opportunity.ContractId

private static string processSale(Quote aQuote) {

if (aQuote.IsPaid__c && (aQuote.Opportunity.Account.Has_a_signed_MSSA__c == 'No' || aQuote.Opportunity.Account.Has_a_signed_MSSA__c == null	) && aQuote.Opportunity.Account.Type != 'Current Customer') {
            Contract aContract = new Contract (
                AccountId = aQuote.Opportunity.Account.id
                ,ContractTerm = aQuote.Initial_Contract_Term_Length__c.intValue()
                ,StartDate = aQuote.Initial_Contract_Start_Date__c
            	);

insert aContract;  

aQuote.ContractId = aContract.Id;
            aQuote.Opportunity.ContractId = aContract.Id;

update aQuote;
            update aQuote.Opportunity;
        }
}

What do I need to do to ensure the Opp & Quote records get tied back to the Contract?

Thanks!
Best Answer chosen by Carissa Crittenden
Just to close the loop, once I put my code in to the correct Apex Class, it worked the way it was supposed to. Thanks all!

All Answers

Alain CabonAlain Cabon
No such column 'ContractId' on entity 'Opportunity'
By default Contract field on Opportunity is hidden from all profiles. 
In order to make it visible follow the steps