function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Debra ShoupDebra Shoup 

Apex Class for Account Before Delete

As an admin, I've written my first apex trigger and it works great in the dev sandbox. But I need to write the test class for it so I can move it to production. I've tried to follow some of the previous questions, but I still am having difficulty. I'm hoping someone can tell me where I've gone wrong. 

My trigger is such that if the account has an Oracle account number entered in the custom field Oracle Account Number, the account cannot be deleted.

Here is my trigger:

1 trigger AccountBeforeDelete on Account (before delete) {
2 for (Account acc: trigger.old){
3 if(acc.Oracle_Account_Number__c!=null){
4 acc.adderror('This Account contains an Oracle Account Number and cannot be deleted. Please contact your System Administrator if you think this account needs to be deleted.');
5 }
6 }
8 }

Here is the apex class I’ve attempted to write:

1 trigger AccountBeforeDelete on Account(before delete){
2 for (Account acc:trigger.old){
3 if(acc.Oracle_Account_Number__c!=null){
4 acc.addError('This account is associated with an Oracle Account Number and cannot be deleted. Please contact your System Administrator if you think this account needs to be deleted.');
5 }
6 }
8 }

Thank you!
Nayana KNayana K
@isTest
private DeleteAccountTest
{
  static testMethod void testDeletion()
{
// insert an account 
  Account objAcc = new Account (Name = 'TestAcc',  Account_Number__c = 1234);
Insert objAcc; 

try
{
delete objAcc; 
}
catch(Exception e) 
{
system.assertNotEquals(Null, objAcc);
}
}
}

Debra ShoupDebra Shoup
Nayana,