function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Tom FarringtonTom Farrington 

how to have users select from a multipick list based on related records

Trying to gather the ID of all related custom object records

Hi all, not an expert, but i've been using salesforce for a couple of years and this one really has me head scratching.  To the point where I now have no where left to go!

I am setting up an API which has been fine, but I need to parse certain record IDs to an object in order to achieve this.  Here is my requirement:

An account has 'Assets'
An account has a custom object called 'Service'.  This object represents a service visit to the site.
I want the user to be able to select which assets are due to be serviced.
So effectivly my ideal would be a multipick list on the custom object 'service' which was pre-populated with the 'assets' from the accounts page.

I don't actually need a related lookup, just a way of having the user select which ones, and then be able to hold the ID's and names of those records in a field on the 'Service' object so that when that object is sent via the API i know which related assets are being serviced.

Due to the fact that it has a many to many relationship (i.e. on service can do all or just one asset, and an asset can appear on just one or multiple services), i created a junction object.  Therefore my user could now select 'New Asset To Service', which puts it in a related list.  But I can't pull from this data, I need to get the record ID data onto the 'Service' object.

I'm happy using any methods, but I'm not much of a coder.  WFR's, process builder, no problems.

Any help would be massivly appreciated as I have no clue which direction to go next.

Many thanks,
NagendraNagendra (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi Tom,