function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Melissa GMelissa G 

Trigger by specific Record type

Good afternoon!

I was wondering if someone could further assist with the following question from August: https://developer.salesforce.com/forums/ForumsMain?id=906F0000000g0j0IAA.

The original question was:

Hi! I am trying to edit some code to copy an email message to case comments based on specific record types. I have two or three record types to add. I have little coding experience so I understand the logic of what I need to do, just not the actual code. I found code for this trigger & class online and it works great as it stands (for all record types). I found additional code for selecting the record type, which it appears to do, but I have no idea how to add additional record types to the query or what to do after the record type is selected. Can someone help me fill in the blanks? The trigger is CopyEmail and the class is CopyEmailCode. Thanks!

trigger CopyEmail on EmailMessage (after insert) {
Id recordTypeId = [Select Id From RecordType Where DeveloperName = 'Salesforce_Support'].Id;

/*
How do I add a second and third record type of ‘Salesforce_Projects’ & ‘Salesforce_Training’?
Then, what else goes here to make it only select the requested record types?
*/

CopyEmailCode.copyEmail(Trigger.new);
}

I received the following response that caused an error I do not understand:

List<EmailMessage>emailmlist=new List<EmailMessage>();

map<ID,RecordType>mapval=new map<ID,RecordType>([SELECT DeveloperName,Id,IsActive,SobjectType FROM RecordType WHERE DeveloperName IN ('Salesforce_Support','Salesforce_Training','Salesforce_Projects') AND SobjectType = 'EmailMessage' AND IsActive=true]);
system.debug('-----'+mapval);

for(EmailMessage e:Trigger.new){

if(e.recordtypeid!null){