function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
niraj kumar 45niraj kumar 45 

Validation rule on Master object

I have a validation rule on master object(Opportunity).I have rollup summary field on parent Object. I am checking in the validation that if no records is there in the child object then fire this validation rule. But i am facing issue while deleting the last child object record which is in the related list of parent as the validation rule fire first and does not allow me to delete the last child record. 
Please let me know how do i update my validation ruleso that it allows me to delete all the child records and should fire when when insert or update the parent record. Below is my validation rule:(Total_Resource_Badge__c is a rollup summary field)

AND(OR( 
ISPICKVAL(StageName, '3. Solutioning'), 
ISPICKVAL(StageName, '4. End-Game'), 
ISPICKVAL(StageName, '5. Negotiation'), 
ISPICKVAL(StageName, 'Won') 
), 
INCLUDES(Delivery_Construct__c , "Involves rebadging of resources") ,
Total_Resource_Badge__c=0)
Rakesh ARakesh A
As you have written a validation rule when count is zero, validation rule means, it stops saving record when criteria met and throws error. I think this is as expected.

now tell me, why this vaidation rule. what you are trying to achieve. i will help you
Thanks for your quick response Rakesh.
It is working fine for parent record whenever it is inserted/updated. But I am facing issue in child record when I am trying to delete the last child records, the validation rule fires again as the count is upadted to zero. My requirement is that it should allow me to delete all child records.So in what way I can modify my validaion rule so that it works for Parent records the way it is working now and should also allow me to delete all its child records.
Rakesh ARakesh A
add prior to that field as below and try