function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Ian Wright 3Ian Wright 3 

Create a case comment when another object field is not Null

Hi,

I'm new to Apex and am looking to create an auto-generated approval note on the case attached to the custom object Event_Resolution__c.  Below is what I have and I keep getting line 5, loop variable must be of Type Question.  I assume it means it thinks Case is not defined or related to the event resolution.  The case is entered in a lookup field case__c but it says that variable doesn't exist.  

Any help on how to make this possible?  Basically if anyone on the event resolutions team approves a credit or point value, I want a case comment to automatically populate on the case.
User-added image
Best Answer chosen by Ian Wright 3
Ravi Dutt SharmaRavi Dutt Sharma
Hi Ian,

I have updated the code to check condition for Question record type. I am hoping that Question record type is present on Event Resolution object. Let me know if it is otherwise. Thanks.

New utility class that you need to create first:

public class ObjectUtil {

public static String getObjectRecordTypeId(SObjectType sObjectType, String recordTypeName){
        //Generate a map of tokens for all the Record Types for the desired object
        Map recordTypeInfo = sObjectType.getDescribe().getRecordTypeInfosByName();

if(!recordTypeInfo.containsKey(recordTypeName))
            throw new RecordTypeException('Record type "'+ recordTypeName +'" does not exist.');

//Retrieve the record type id by name
        return recordTypeInfo.get(recordTypeName).getRecordTypeId();
    }

public class RecordTypeException extends Exception{}
}

Updated trigger code that makes use of this utility class:

trigger AutoApprovals on Event_Resolution__c (after insert){

List<CaseComment> newComment = new List<CaseComment>();