function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Linda 98Linda 98 

Trigger help with multiselect picklist values

My use case- Custom object linkedcontacts__c with Master detail relations on contact and customobject2__c objects.
Having two multi-select picklist fields on both the objects, Named as Roles.
I am having a trigger on customobject2 which fires when a field is changed, then I am trying to get those multi-select field values(roles) and check against contact roles, and link the related contacts.
My major issue is as they are multi-select values if multiple roles are chosen then how can I achieve this??

For instance, if I am having a CB2 record with roles director; manager, I should be able to query those contacts whose roles are director or manager or director and manager(if any) and should relate by inserting record in the linkedcontact__c object. 
Please guide me.Thank you.

Best Answer chosen by Linda 98
Andrew GAndrew G
Hi Linda

I have responed in the linked post.  Finally had time to do a full test in one of my dev orgs.

Hopefully that should get you across the line.

Regards
Andrew

All Answers

Andrew GAndrew G
A multi-select picklist should be a semi-colon separated string in Apex, therefore something like:

String[] roles= customObject2.Roles__c.split(';');

should work.

Then you could test using  contains
contains(listElement)
Returns true if the list contains the specified element.

Boolean result = roles.contains('Manager');
if (result) {
    //do some processing
}

Regards

AndrewG
Linda 98Linda 98
Thank you Andrew. But what about dynamic values? Like if extra picklist values are added from frontend?? Also,if there are 20-25 values, should I consider including each value like you mentioned?? (Contains manager)
Andrew GAndrew G
If i read that again: