function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Tyler Brooks 16Tyler Brooks 16 

Button on an object to open a FormAssembly form linked to said object

Hello all,
I am trying to create a button on an object that will open a FormAssembly form, prepopulating several fields from the object into it. Then it will create a new object as a child of the first.

I found something like this for sending an email template out, 
<a href="formURL?tfa_co={!Lead.Company}&tfa_LeadId={!Lead.Id}">Please click here to take our survey.</a>

COuld this convert to a button on my record page? I am a new(er) admin on my own and I've never done a button or FormAssembly before.

Best Answer chosen by Tyler Brooks 16
Sam KesslerSam Kessler
Hi Tyler, When configuring the prefill connector to read a variable from the form url, it's usually best to set it to read from an "unsafe query parameter." First I would recommend you change the name of the parameter you're passing from tfa_158 to something custom like "id" to prevent interference with formassembly's existing field aliases. I would recommend something like https://tsk-tsk.tfaforms.net/forms/view/5?id={!Opportunity.Id}. Then in the prefill connector, set it to look up an Opportunity where Opportunity ID equals "an unsafe query parameter" and then type in the name of your parameter (i.e. id). Best, Sam

All Answers

Sam KesslerSam Kessler
Hi Tyler! There are a few options for the things you're trying to do - I'll try and organize below:

Add a button with a link: