function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Luke GreenstreetLuke Greenstreet 

Saving from Custom VF Page to Person Account

Hi,

I am new to visualforce and using a address QAS tool, to get this to function as we want I have had to put it on a VF page.

The VF page is accessed via the Person Account object when the related list NEW OVERRIDE button is pressed. The page works as intended but I dont know how to store the ID of the Person Account record that I came from. Do I need to use a custom controller? I have done some reading on apex:param and URL param but I am struggling to get my head around them. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

VF Page:
<apex:page standardController="Previous_Address__c" showHeader="true" recordSetVar="PreviousAdresses">

<apex:form >      
            <apex:pageBlock mode="edit" title="Previous Address">
                    <apex:pageBlockButtons >
                        <apex:commandButton value="Save" action="{!Save}"/>
                        <apex:commandButton value="Cancel" action="{!Cancel}"/>
                    </apex:pageBlockButtons>
                <apex:pageBlockSection title="Previous Address" collapsible="false"  columns="1" >
                    <apex:outputField label="Contact" value="{!Previous_Address__c.Contact__c}"/> 
                    <apex:inputField Label="Address Resident From" value="{!Previous_Address__c.Address_Resident_From_Date__c}"/>
                    <apex:inputField Label="Address Resident To" value="{!Previous_Address__c.Address_Resident_To_Date__c}"/>                       
                    <apex:inputField Label="House Number" value="{!Previous_Address__c.House_Flat_No__c}"/>
                    <apex:inputField Label="House Name" value="{!Previous_Address__c.House_Name__c}"/>