function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
afgmsafgms 

Create Apex Batch Job to update multiple objects

Hello Friends. I hope you're well.
I'm new in Apex so I would like to have your input regarding how to handle this requirement that I have to complete.

A new CustomObject that will be created in order to be filled with records that represents update instructions that needs to be performed. The Custom Object will have the following fields: SObject (were the update is to be performed), the SObjectID (ID of the record), Field (Name of the field in the SObject) and Value (Value to be applied in the update).

So, if the user adds the following record in the Custom Object:
sObject - Account
SObjectID - 221hdi21u213
Field - Name
Value - David

The process when is executed (it will be scheduled), the record is fetched and a update will performed in Account (to change the value for the field Name, for the record ID 221hdi21u213)

In this case, I know that I need a Scheduler Apex class and Batchable class. Since the aim is to be flexible and be able to add multiple records (and multiple objects), what should be the best approach to handle this?

Thanks a lot!

Best Answer chosen by afgms
Prateek Prasoon 25Prateek Prasoon 25
One possible approach to handle this scenario is to create a custom Batchable class that will retrieve the records from the Custom Object and perform the necessary updates on the corresponding SObject records. Here are the high-level steps for implementing this approach:
Define a custom object that will hold the update instructions. As you mentioned, this object will have fields for the SObject name, record ID, field name, and field value.