function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
divya1234divya1234 

Apex trigger on Custom Object to auto populate lookup field of account and custom object

I'm new to developing in general and I am trying to create a trigger that updates the custom lookup field Test1__c and account__c on the custom object test2  object. I have a created a custom object called test2  o  which has a related one-to-one relationship with the Account and test 1. I'm getting an error when attempting to save the Opportunity record, although it mentions the correct reference below but doesnt populate the field. My code is pasted below the error message."Error: Invalid Data.
Review all error messages below to correct your data.
Apex trigger Populatetest2caused an unexpected exception, contact your administrator: Populatetest2 : data changed by trigger for field Repcode: data value too large: (value has been hidden)"

trigger PopulateTest2 on Test1(before insert,before update) {
    set<ID> setofTest2 = new set<id>();
    set<ID> setofContactUser     = new set<id>();
    for (Test1 CA : trigger.new){
        if(CA.Test2_Name__c != null){
            setofTest2.add(CA.Test2_Name__c);}
        if(CA.ContactUser__c!=null){
            setofContactUser.add(CA.ContactUser__c); }   }       
        List<Test2__c> Test2List  = [Select ContactUser__c from Test2__c where id in: setofTest2];
        List<Account>  AccList = [Select Name from Account where id in: setofContactUser];    
     for(Integer i = 0; i < Trigger.new.size(); i++){
        if (Trigger.new[i].Test2__c != null) {
           Trigger.new[i].Test2__c = Test2List[i].ID;            
        }
        if (Trigger.new[i].ContactUser__c != null) {
           Trigger.new[i].ContactUser__c  = AccList[i].ID;            
        }
    }
    }

Leon ThanikalLeon Thanikal
Hi Divya,