function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Anirban Saha 8Anirban Saha 8 

Updating an existing record while create a new record in same object

Hi
I am new in apex coading and currently looking for a help on a particular scenario. I am trying to update an existing record when I am creating a record on that same object.
Example: I have a custom object associated with an account and only one active record can be present in that custom object. Let say there is an active record present in that object already and now I am creating another record in that particular object. On the creation of the new record will automatically deactivate the previous record.

Thanks in advance
ANUTEJANUTEJ (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi Anirban,

I believe the scenario you have is that you have a checkbox which you want to deactivate on the records that are previously existing system and activate on the current record.

There could be multiple ways to check the above scenario one way is you could wirite a trigger on before inserting the record check if there are any records with the checkbox to true if so uncheck the checkbox and update them and insert the new record with checkbox set to true.

And please do remember to follow the best practices while writing the trigger:
>> https://developer.salesforce.com/docs/atlas.en-us.apexcode.meta/apexcode/apex_triggers_bestpract.htm
>> https://developer.salesforce.com/page/Apex_Code_Best_Practices

Please let me know if this was helpful and I would request you to close the thread by marking this as best answer as it would help others in the future and also keeps the community clean,

Regards,
Anutej Poddaturi
Anirban Saha 8Anirban Saha 8
Hi Anutez,