function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Steve ConnellySteve Connelly 

Need to create new custom object records from Opportunity record plus fields from another custom object.

Working in Lightning....

I am new to APEX. I nee dto build a trigger to create a custom object record from an Opportunity when a new Opp is created or the Close date changes.

I need to use fields from the Opp and from another custom object in the new record.

Can anyone point me to an article or some basic code to get me started?

There is more to this but I just want to get to whewre I can create the new record first. Sort of a learn by doing process.

Any help or suggestions is greatly appreciated.

Best regards,
Steve
Best Answer chosen by Steve Connelly
AbhishekAbhishek (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi Steve,

Maybe the below blogs might help you check it once,

https://success.salesforce.com/apex/answers?id=90630000000DLraAAG

https://success.salesforce.com/answers?id=9063A000000lDTUQA2

Thanks.

All Answers

AbhishekAbhishek (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi Steve,

Maybe the below blogs might help you check it once,

https://success.salesforce.com/apex/answers?id=90630000000DLraAAG

https://success.salesforce.com/answers?id=9063A000000lDTUQA2

Thanks.
This was selected as the best answer
Thanks Abhishek, but these won't help me.

Probably my fault for not going into greater detail. 

I won't be able to use a Process Builder, Workflow or flow for this, i will need a trigger.

The end result I need is to create a new record for each quarter an Opportunity is scheduled to be open based upon the Created date and the Close date.

I have a custom object (Quarter Number) that has a record for each quarter for a number of years (Q1-2019, Q2-2019, Q3-2019, Q4-2019, Q1-2020, Q2-2020, and so fortht. These records also have an index number (1,2, 3, 4, etc).