function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Steve ConnellySteve Connelly 

How do i pull an opportunity ID into an Apex trigger?

I am new to coding in general and to Apex in particular so any help I can get is greatly appreciated.

I am building a trigger that will create a new custom object record from an opportunity.

I plan to use process builder to fire the trigger when a particular opp type is created or when a particular field in that opp is updated.

I want the new record to be related to the Opp so i want to pull the Opp ID and some of the fields into the trigger to use in the new record.

How do i pull that specific data in?

Like I said, I am new at this but willing to work and learn.

Best regards,
Steve

Best Answer chosen by Steve Connelly
SFDC Apex DevSFDC Apex Dev
In addition, you need to pull the opportunity id related to your custom object that what I'm doing here.
This trigger is written on your custom object so there will be some logic on your opportunity trigger to populate the opp on custom object or to create custom object whenevr new opp created.

For basic of apex trigger go through the below urls:
https://developer.salesforce.com/docs/atlas.en-us.apexcode.meta/apexcode/apex_triggers.htm
https://trailhead.salesforce.com/en/content/learn/modules/apex_triggers

Thanks!
Chirag

All Answers

Hi Steve,

Here is the sample code for you.
Create trigger on the custom object.
trigger opportunityTrigger on customObject__c(before insert, before update){    // add whatever context you wanna use
Set<Id> oppIdSet = new Set<Id>();  // Creating the set of Opportunity Id
for(customObject__c obj: Trigger.new){
        if(Trigger.IsInsert || (Trigger.IsUpdate && obj.Opportunity__c != Trigger.oldMap.get(obj.Id).Opportunity__c)){