function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Swiderski, ErikSwiderski, Erik 

How to combine unrelated objects in a query. Is that even a thing?

I'm fairly new to lightning component development. I'm trying to combine the query results for two unrelated objects into one "object" so I can show it in something slick like a treegrid, or a nested aura iteration.

I've done the "easy" ones before, using apex to query contacts and get parent fields (in this case the account)

[SELECT Id, Name, Phone, Email, Account.Name FROM Contact]
As well as the other way, to query account and get fields from contact
[SELECT Id, Name, (SELECT Email, Phone FROM Contacts) FROM Account]

But this project is a little unique. One of the objects (or "parent" if this was an actual relationship) is tasks. I have my query to get the task records, that part works. The custom object that I want to show in a treegrid or aura iteration is not related to the task. This is the tricky part. It could be considered a "child" because this custom object has a regular text field populated with the task's record id.

Is there a way to easily query tasks for a certain criteria filter, and include/group records of this custom object under each task that have the task's id in the text field? I'm not familiar with a "wrapper class" but it seems that combines maps and objects or something and might do what I need it to. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Raj VakatiRaj Vakati
Well SOQL will not be an option for you if you wanted to retune the unrelated objects ,, i can suggest to use SOSL for unrelated objects result 
Swiderski, ErikSwiderski, Erik