function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Puspendra SinghPuspendra Singh 

map having duplicate keys

Hello, I am new to APEX, Can someone tell me if this is possible to have duplicate Key in a MAP. I am adding element from a list to a map and when i print my map, i see duplicate value of the key. Here is how my map and its data items are defined.

public class ZTECase
    {
        public string OracleCaseNumber{get;set;}
    }
public class ZTEContact
    {
        public string FirstName{get;set;}
        public string LastName{get;set;}
        public string EmailAddress{get;set;}  
}

map<ZTECase,ZTEContact> mapZTEData=new map<ZTECase,ZTEContact>
                      ZTECase objZTECase=new ZTECase();    
                      ZTEContact objZTEContact=new ZTEContact();    

In this map, we are adding  OracleCaseNumber and Contact info from Oracle Service Cloud. When i am printing this map post my addition, i see duplicate OracleCaseNumber which is my Key in the map ZTECase. Please suggest

Best Answer chosen by Puspendra Singh
Amit Chaudhary 8Amit Chaudhary 8

Please check below post
1) https://developer.salesforce.com/docs/atlas.en-us.apexcode.meta/apexcode/apex_methods_system_map.htm
  • Map keys and values can be of any data type—primitive types, collections, sObjects, user-defined types, and built-in Apex types.
  • Uniqueness of map keys of user-defined types is determined by the equals and hashCode methods, which you provide in your classes. Uniqueness of keys of all other non-primitive types, such as sObject keys, is determined by comparing the objects’ field values.